Hackensack DWI Lawyer Adam Lustberg Discusses Drunk Driving Charges and Penalties

December 28, 2021 at 23:52

Hackensack, NJ: In the state of New Jersey, a conviction for driving under the influence can have lasting implications. These penalties include fines, license suspension, community service, and even prison time. Adam Lustberg, a DWI lawyer and founder of Lustberg Law Offices, LLC recently published an article discussing the drunk driving charges and penalties in New Jersey.

The DWI lawyer explains: “DWI, also known as Driving While Intoxicated, can be a serious charge. You could be sentenced to severe punishment, no matter if you were driving while intoxicated with drugs and alcohol.”.

DWI lawyer

New Jersey law makes it illegal to drive with a blood alcohol level (BAC) of more than 0.08%. This can be determined through breath, blood, or urine tests. Trucks, buses, and commercial drivers are subject to a 0.04% threshold.

Anyone younger than 21 years of age may be guilty of DWI if there is any alcohol detected in their bloodstream while driving a car. New Jersey can impose severe penalties for DWI.

The impact is long-term and the penalties could affect a person’s driving license, insurance rates, and even their jail sentence are all possible. N.J.S.A. sets forth the penalties for DWI offenses in New Jersey. 39:4-50. These penalties depend on whether or not a person has been convicted previously of DWI.

New Jersey courts define intoxication or being impaired as "substantial decline or diminution in mental faculties or physical capabilities of a person" following the consumption of alcohol or drugs. New Jersey's laws refer to driving while impaired, drunk driving (DWI), or driving while intoxicated as one thing.

After a thorough review of the case, the person charged can determine the exact penalties that they are subject to. A first offense can result in their driver's license being suspended for three months to one year.

Although it is rare for a court to sentence a person to jail, it may still happen. They will also have to pay fines, and they will need to attend a class at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. The penalties for second and subsequent offenses are even more severe. These penalties will increase steadily from a maximum of 90 days in prison to up to a $1,000 fine and a 2-year suspension of license.

They also include a possible installation of an ignition lock device, $1,000 per year in an automobile insurance surcharge, and 30 days of community work. If charged, one could face mandatory imprisonment for 180 days, larger fines and assessments, and a 10-year license suspension.

To learn more about DWI charges, penalties, and to get in touch with Adam Lustberg, visit https://www.lustberglaw.com/dwi-lawyer/.

About Lustberg Law Offices LLC

Lustberg Law Offices, LLC handles criminal cases exclusively in New Jersey and New York. The firm has a hard-earned reputation for getting the job done for clients. The firm’s founding attorney, Adam M. Lustberg, has represented clients at every stage of the criminal justice process, including detention hearings, arraignments, plea negotiations, and trials.

###

For more information about Lustberg Law Offices, LLC, contact the company here:

Lustberg Law Offices, LLC
Adam Lustberg
+1 201 880 5311
alustberg@lustberglaw.com

FacebookTwitterGoogleDiggRedditLinkedIn